How to Delete WhatsApp Messages

Author: Rahul | Guide: WhatsApp |

To organize your WhatsApp messages well and to get rid of unnecessary messages, delete WhatsApp messages. You can even delete WhatsApp messages for everyone if you want to. But it has certain rules. You can delete it for everyone only until it is not read by the receiver. Thus, it is about deleting WhatsApp's unread message. However, if you want to delete the messages from your device for yourself, you can follow these steps.

Delete WhatsApp Message in 5 Steps

Step-1 Open WhatsApp: You need to get to the chat from which you want to delete the message. So, for that, you need to open the application of WhatsApp whose icon is green in color. Go ahead now.

step 1

Step-2 Open the Chat: If you want to delete specific messages and not all, open the chat. From the list of all your chats, scroll down, go through and decide what all messages you want to delete before going further.

step 2

Step-3 Long Press the Message: Once you know what message you want to delete on WhatsApp, long press on the text.

  • By long pressing the message, you select it and it turns light blue in color.
  • Select all the messages that you do not want to keep in the chat anymore. You will be able to delete multiple messages too.
  • From here, you can delete WhatsApp messages in the next step.

Image titled Delete WhatsApp Message step 3

Step-4 Tap on Delete Icon: By selecting the messages, you will see the dustbin-shaped delete icon at the top of the screen. Click on that to delete WhatsApp messages.

Image titled Delete WhatsApp Message step 4

Step-5 Tap on Delete For Me: By clicking on the delete icon, a dialogue box appears to ask for your confirmation. If you are sure about getting rid of the messages, click on the 'delete for me' option.

  • Thus, you will delete the message for yourself from your device.
  • Make sure you are not selecting important messages while you choose to delete them.

Image titled Delete WhatsApp Message step 5

Isn't this easy? Now, you might have a question as to why delete WhatsApp messages.

  • Well, firstly, it keeps your chats organized.
  • Secondly, when you get rid of all the conversations that you do not want, it will be easy to find the important ones whenever required.
  • It will save your memory. WhatsApp messages don't hold up much memory but it is still good to remove useless texts.

If I Delete For Me, Will Other Person Still Have Those Messages? 

Yes, when you use the 'Delete for Me' option on WhatsApp, the messages clear off from your device. The other person can access the messages, take screenshots and keep them as per their choice. So, always make sure you don't share some confidential and private information on WhatsApp. If you do and realize it later, delete it for everyone as soon as possible.

Can I Get Back The Messages that I Delete? 

You can always rely on the backup and restore WhatsApp messages feature. You will get back all the data and messages until the last backup. However, you cannot get back those messages that you receive after the last WhatsApp backup. So, make sure your WhatsApp backup happens on a daily basis if you want to keep it and access it anytime.

To clarify, if you clear the backup too from your drive, you can not get back any messages that you delete. So, be very cautious while deleting the data.

Was this article helpful ?

No