You can turn off messenger when you don't want anyone to see that you are online. When you add any contact on messenger, everyone can see that you are online whenever you open the messenger application. Like this, they can disturb you with unnecessary messages and distract you from your ongoing task. To avoid that, just turn off the messenger and continue your tasks. No nonsense notifications mean high-level productivity!
How to Turn Off Active Status on Facebook Messenger in android phone
Turn Off Messenger (Active Status): 4 Steps
Step-1 Open Messenger Application: If you are using Facebook regularly, it is quite natural that you are using messenger too. This is because it is important to have a messenger app to chat with Facebook friends.
But if you have never used messenger, you can start now.
Go to the play store, search for the messenger application, and download it.
Once you download it, you need to log in with your Facebook ID password itself.
It will also allow you to log in with your contact number.
If your number is linked to Facebook, use it, otherwise enter the mail ID and password itself.
It will ask if you want to link all your regular contacts with Facebook friends on messenger.
Do the required settings as per your necessity and choice.
Step-2 Profile Icon: On opening the application, the chats page is open by default. On that page itself, you see your profile icon in the top left corner.
If you have a profile picture, it will show that picture in that small circle.
If you do not have a profile picture, it will show a people icon in a circle as you see in the picture.
Click on that and go ahead.
Step-3 Select Active Status Option: By clicking on the profile option, a list of account and profile settings appear. They are arranged category-wise.
In the Profile category, you will see the option of 'Active Status' just below message requests.
Click on that option to go further.
Step-4 Turn it Off: Now, the messenger directs you to a new page. There are two options, one is 'Show when you are active', and the other is 'show when you are active together.'
Both are active, that is both are blue.
When you click on the first one 'show when you're active,' it will ask you for confirmation.
By selecting turn off in that, both the options will be inactive and will turn grey.
Thus, people will not see when you come online.
However, if you are active on Facebook, you will show online on Facebook. Also, when you turn off messenger's active status, you can't see if others are active. To start a conversation, you can wave anyone on messenger and start chatting. How does turning off active status on messenger help?
Well, if you want to chat with a specific person only and do not want others to text you at that time, you can turn this off.
Like this, you are not obliged to respond to another person quickly.
You can take your time and respond whenever you want to.
Thus, turning off messenger gives us the power and freedom to reply at our own time without making the sender feel ignored.